Skip to main content

About Department

Law Department Inner Banner

About Department

The Law Department is headed by a Senior District Judge belonging to the cadre of the Odisha Superior Judicial Service. Another post called Legal Remembrancer exists in Law Department which also belongs to OSJS. That apart, three more posts in the rank of Addl. District Judge exist in Law Department. All the above five posts are filled on deputation. Other than Judicial Officers, there are officers in the Law Department working in two Branches, namely:-

  • Legislative Wing and
  • Translation Bureau
  1. The hierarchy of the Legislative Wing is as follows:-
    • The wing is headed by an officer in the rank of Special Secretary
    •  Other senior officers in the wing are- one Addl. Secretary, two Joint Secretaries, one Deputy Secretary and two Under Secretaries.
  2. Similarly, the hierarchy of Translation Bureau consists of one Addl. Secretary (Upgraded from the Post of Joint Secretary), one Deputy Secretary and three Under Secretaries.

Law Department has a huge in-house library with nearly 25000 books/journals those are presently in digitized format